The town history
dates back to the beginning of the 14th century.
In 1340 the Teutonic Knights erected a castle located on a strategic
isthmus between Lakes Kisajno and Niegocin. The
castle was named Lötzen and was one in a chain of borderland strongholds,
used for defence and armed raids into the territory of Lithuania.
At the beginning of the 15th century, a settlement started developing
and was elevated to the rank of the town by a charter from the
second half of the 16th century. Civic rights, with a coat of
arms and a seal, were granted to the settlement in 1612. In the
coat of arms of the town there are three breams placed horizontally
against the black background.
The town was named after the castle – Lötzen (in Polish – Lec)
and bore this name for centuries.
1820 Lec became the seat of the county authorities. Several years
later a Lutherian church, designed by the famous architect Charles
Frederick Schinkel, was erected in the centre of the town. In
summer, the Giżycko Organ Concertos are held there and have enjoyed
Another picturesque view is the operation of the drawbridge over
the Łuczański Canal, which is an interesting construction from
the second half of the 19th century – the only one of this kind
in Poland and one of the two in Europe.
Some tenement houses from the turn of the 20th century are worth
One of the characteristic landmarks in the town is the water-tower
from the end of the 19th century.
One of the castle wings,
erected in 1340 by the Teutonic Knights, has survived, after
reconstrucion, to modern times.
• Area – 1387 ha
• Inhabitants – 30 000
• Number of businesses – 3655
• Density of population – 2153 residents per sq km
• Avarage monthly salary (2002) – 1710,37 PLN
• Age – 27% of the citizens are under 18 years old